1. About
    1. Headquarters Information
    2. NSSAR Officers
    3. NSSAR Staff
    4. SAR Mission & Goals
    5. SAR CAAH Resolution
    6. Governance
    7. Who We Are
    8. What We Do
    9. What is SAR?
    10. SAR History
    11. SAR Ladies Auxiliary
  2. Members
    1. Society Web Links
    2. SAR Handbook
    3. Application Status Report
    4. Membership Data System
    5. Forms & Manuals
    6. ShareFile
    7. SAR Committees
    8. SAR Magazine
    9. FAQ's for Members
    10. Ethics
    11. Service Partners
  3. Join SAR!
    1. Apply for Membership
    2. Find Local Society Points of Contact
    3. SAR Application References
    4. Membership Pamphlet
  4. Education
    1. American History Teacher Award
    2. Lesson Plans
    3. SAR Educator Videos
    4. Outreach Resources
    5. Order DVD/Videos
    6. SAR Outreach Education
    7. Youth Exchange
    8. Youth Contests and Awards
  5. Genealogy
    1. SAR Genealogical Policies and Materials
    2. Genealogical Copy Services
    3. Genealogical Research Services
    4. SAR Genealogy Assistants
    5. Patriot Research System
    6. Genealogy Reference Materials
    7. Children of the American Revolution
    8. State Genealogy Points of Contact for Applications
  6. Events
    1. News
    2. Congress Information
    3. Leadership Information
    4. Leadership Dates
  7. Contact Us




SAR Youth Contests and Awards

Joseph S. Rumbaugh Historical Oration Contest

The National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution (SAR) invites all high school students (9th through 12th grades) interested in the American Revolution to participate in the Joseph S. Rumbaugh Historical Oration Contest. The contest is open to all students attending public, parochial, private or home school students in that same grade range. The preliminary rounds of the contest begin at the local level, students may potentially advance to the state or national levels where scholarships and cash prizes are awarded.

Each student’s five-to-six-minute speech (and accompanying manuscript) will be judged based upon its composition, delivery, significance, and historical accuracy and relevance. Three cash awards are given: the National First Place Winner receives $6,000; the 2nd Place Runner-up receives $4,000; and the 3rd Place Runner-up receives $2,000 cash prize. Each also receives an Olympic-sized medal. All other finalists (4th through 6th Place runners-up) are awarded $500 and all other national contestants are awarded $200. An informational flyer and the contest forms can be found below. Please be aware that the local and state application deadline dates may vary, so interested applicants should reach out to their local SAR chapter for further details.

Primary Contact for All Entries:
Mr. John H. "Jack" Bredenfoerder
NSSAR Joseph S. Rumbaugh Historical Oration Chairman
8751 Haverhill Lane
Cincinnati, Ohio 45236

Contest Information Flyer 

Contest Forms

Donate to the Joseph S. Rumbaugh Historical Orations Contest

Previous Winners

For forty-four years, the National Oration Contest sponsored by the SAR carried the name Douglass G. High. In 1993, the name of this oratorical contest was changed, in perpetuity to the Joseph S. Rumbaugh Historical Oration Contest. The previous annual first place winners are:

YearWinning OratorSponsoring SAR Society
2018Rebekah R. DoaneIndiana SAR
2017Taryn MurphyCalifornia SAR
2016Liam Patrick O'ConnorDelaware SAR
2015Sophia Noelle ZupancOhio SAR
2014Hayley Caroline SnowdenVirginia SAR
2013Luis Edmundo VasquezTexas SAR
2012Phillip Paul CozziIllinois SAR
2011Jackson BloomNorth Carolina SAR
2010Kristin BowersVirginia SAR
2009Philip Bryan HayesTexas SAR
2008Virginia MacfarlanArkansas SAR
2007David AnguishDelaware SAR
2006Edward Seage, Jr.Delaware SAR
2005Terilyn T. ParkerLouisiana SAR
2004Chris HughesMaryland SAR
2003Blake Phyllip SercyeIllinois SAR
2002Gregory Field PriceMaryland SAR
2001Micah Wade KubicMissouri SAR
2000Andrew GreenKentucky SAR
1999Erik W. JorgensenCalifornia SAR
1998Anna Rene SmithArkansas SAR
1997Joshua M. KoenigFlorida SAR
1996John Barry Dunlap IIMaryland SAR
1995Julie M. PaikCalifornia SAR
1994Michael BowlingOklahoma SAR
1993Dennis Purvis IIOhio SAR
1992John C. O’QuinnNorth Carolina SAR
1991Jody CookKentucky SAR
1990Jonathan Chad SaulsFlorida SAR
1989Martin KellyMaryland SAR
1988Kena M. TagueKansas SAR
1987Valie ScottGeorgia SAR
1986Brian NicholsonNorth Carolina SAR
1985Herman Graham IIIOhio SAR
1984David WhitakerKansas SAR
1983Ruth L. ArnetCalifornia SAR
1982De-Wayne LayfieldTexas SAR
1981David T. JohnsonTexas SAR
1980Brian K. StolleyFlorida SAR
1979David DerachIndiana SAR
1978Greg EvansVirginia SAR
1977Tom BishopGeorgia SAR
1976Kelly P. GallagherTexas SAR
1975Mark A. McCordGeorgia SAR
1974Jack O. ThomasOhio SAR
1973Roy HeadrickTennessee SAR
1972Joseph W. McLeanVirginia SAR
1971John R. DavisTexas SAR
1970George A. Ott IIIGeorgia SAR
1969Michael RosenbaumVirginia SAR
1968Timothy GeorgeTennessee SAR
1967Walter GordonGeorgia SAR
1966James A. HaverkampIndiana SAR
1965Robert P. LaceyVirginia SAR
1964Gary Lee ThorneVirginia SAR
1963David TurnerTennessee SAR
1962Ralph MiloneFlorida SAR
1961James LutzOhio SAR
1960Herbert SchwartzIllinois SAR
1959Julien CalvinFlorida SAR
1958Lief LohrbauerFlorida SAR
1957Thomas IngWashington SAR>
1956John WhiteVirginia SAR
1955John HaywoodOhio SAR
1954William P. LynchNew Jersey SAR
1953James MounrieVirginia SAR
1952No Contest HeldNo Contest Held
1951Thomas HamiltonOhio SAR
1950Ronald HergenEmpire State SAR
1949Robert WoodOhio SAR

Meet Our Members

Learn More



809 W. Main Street | Louisville, KY 40202

Phone: 502-589-1776
Facsimile: 502-589-1671
Email: NSSAR@sar.org


Phone: 502-589-1779
Email: merchandise@sar.org

© 2021 Sons of the American Revolution.