SAR History                 Education                 Patriotism                Genealogy              Library 

2015 - 2016 NSSAR General Officers


2015-2016 General Officers


Elected at Louisville, Kentucky July 2015

  • President General -- is the chief executive officer of the SAR. He guides the policies, oversees headquarters operations, and appoints the members of all the committees.  He presides over meetings of the Executive Committee, the Trustees, and the annual Congress.  He (or his designated representative) represents the SAR at the meetings of or in negotiations with other organizations.


President General Thomas E. Lawrence

tlawrence01atsbcglobal [dot] net ( Thomas E. Lawrence)


Thomas E. Lawrence (TX) has been a member a member of the Sons of the American Revolution since 1996.  He was elected President General of the National Society, Sons of the American Revolution, in July, 2015 to serve a one-year term.

Secretary General

mtommeatbellsouth [dot] net (J. Michael Tomme, Sr.) (GA)

Secretary General J. Michael Tomme, Sr.

Maintenance of records of the activities of the executive committee, trustees, and national congresses; headquarters staff operations; compiling officer and committee reports for distribution at meetings; meeting registration.

Treasurer General

Larry T. Guzy (GA)

Treasurer General Larry T. Guzy

Maintenance of financial records; advice and action on financial issues; headquarters merchandise operation; dues

Chancellor General

Davis L. Wright (DE)

Advice and action on legal issues relating to the national society.

Genealogist General

jsinksatcomcast [dot] net (John D. Sinks) (DC)

Guidance on genealogical problems related to applications for membership and supplementals.

Registrar General

Russel F. DeVenney, Jr. (MO)

Maintenance of membership records

Historian General

JackatManning [dot] net (John T. Manning) (NH)

Securing and interpreting of the records required to document the history of the national society.

Librarian General

C. Bruce Pickette (AL)

Guidance for maintaining the national headquarters library and museum

Surgeon General

Dr. Larry M. Leslie (KY)

Advice and assistance for maintaining the health of our members.

Chaplain General

Rev Dr. James C. Taylor (TX)


Advice and assistance for ministering to the spiritual needs of our members.


Executive Committee Appointees

PG Lindsey C. Brock, 2014-15 (FL)
Douglas T. Collins (KY)
James T. Jones, Jr. (TX)
William O. Stone (AL)
PG Nathan E. White, Jr., 2006-07 (TX)

Other Appointments

Michael J. Elston, Esq., Ambassador to the United Kingdom

Richard T. Bryant, Esq., Ambassador to the Caribbean Region

Inspector General, Warren M. Alter - AZ (Term Expires 2018)

Chief Compliance Officer, John Beard - TX (Term Expires 2016)

Deputy Chief Compliance Officer, W. A. Broadus - VA (Term Expires 2016)

Project Manager for Headquarters/Library construction, PG Nathan E. White, Jr. - TX (Term Expires 2016)

Parliamentarian, Rev. Randy Moody - FL (Term Expires 2016)

President General Lawrence’s Travel Coordinator, jtjones36atverizon [dot] net (James T. Jones, Jr.) - TX

Committee Coordinator, Michael J. Elston - VA

Executive Committee Recording Secretary, Mark C. Anthony - SC


Vice Presidents General

These general officers serve as intermediaries between the national society and the state societies, grouped into fifteen Districts (geographic regions, two of which are outside the United States):

  • New England - LtC Douglas M. Wood : Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Connecticut
  • North Atlantic - COL Peter K. Goebel : New York and New Jersey
  • Mid-Atlantic - George A. Jones : Delaware, Maryland, The District of Columbia, Pennsylvania, and Virginia
  • South Atlantic - Edward P. Rigel, Sr. : North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, and Florida
  • Southern - Michael C. Wells : Alabama, Tennessee, Mississippi, and Louisiana
  • Central - Robert P. Cunningham : Ohio, Indiana, West Virginia, and Kentucky
  • Great Lakes - Richard A. Chamblin: Michigan, Illinois, and Wisconsin
  • North Central - John T. Parsons : Minnesota, The Dakota Society, Iowa, and Nebraska
  • South Central - Stephen W. Rohrbough : Missouri, Kansas, Arkansas, Oklahoma, and Texas
  • Rocky Mountain - Michael E. Barger : Arizona, Colorado, and New Mexico
  • Inter-mountain - John J. Robinson : Idaho, Montana, Utah, and Wyoming
  • Western - John L. Dodd : California, Nevada, and Hawaii
  • Pacific - Col Jay C. Bisgard : Washington, Oregon, and Alaska
  • Europe - trentinianatfree [dot] fr ( Jacques de Trentinan) : United Kingdom, France, Switzerland, Germany, and the remainder of the Continent of Europe
  • International - Michael J. Elston : all territory outside of the other districts



For a listing of Previous National Society Officers, you can visit a listing here.